The proposed State 5 lies in Terai, locally known as Madhesh. It comprises of 12 districts and is the fourth largest state by population. It comprises 16.4% of Nepal’s total population. The districts included in state 5 are -Nawalparasi (west of Daunne), Rupandehi, Kapilvastu. Palpa, Arghkhanchi, Gulmi, Baglung (western part), Rukum (east of Rukumkot), Rolpa, Pyuthan, Dang, Banke and Bardiya. For calculation purposes, both Nawalparasi and Baglung are included in state 4. This is because the data is available for the entire distict, not proposed partial districts.

The dashboard below shows a quick comparison population (male and female), number of VDCs, and number of households in state 5. Stay tuned for more comparisons.